Baix Penedès/Tarragona

The two first events of the "Copa Catalunya", held in 1908 and 1909 took place in the so-called Baix Penedès circuit. Its 27.885 Km. route traced the roads that link Sitges - Sant Pere de Ribes - Canyelles - Vilanova i la Geltrú - Sitges. This very route served for the first Penya Rhin races, held in 1916 and 1919.

The poor condition of the tracks and the sinuosity of the route made it advisable to look for a new circuit for the III Copa Catalunya, held in 1910. On this occasion, the triangle formed by the roads that link Mataró-Vilassar de Mar - Argentona - Mataró, with a length of 14.9 km. This is the so called "Llevant" route on which the Spanish Championships for amateurs in 1911 and 1912 and the I Spanish Cup in 1912 were held.

In 1921, the Real Moto Club de Catalunya (RMCC) was able to organise the I Armangué Trophy for "autocyles" and chose the route formed by the roads linking Tarragona - La Secuïta - Vallmoll - Tarragona, with a length of 30.284 km. Between Vallmoll and Tarragona (currently the N-240) "there were long straights of more than two kilometres" to use the words of the time. The Armagué Trophy used this circuit in 1921, 1922 and 1923.

The Penya Rhin organised its first three grand prix (1921-1923) on the circuit formed by the roads linking Vilafranca - la Múnia - els Monjos - Vilafranca, with a length of 14.790 km.

From the Circuit de Catalunya Web Site