Dover Downs International Speedway

PO Box 843
DE 19903

Tel: 800-441-race

Distance: 1.0 miles
Banking: 24 degrees

Where To Stay


Best Western, SR 10 @ US113, Dover 19901. Tel: 302 735-4700. Fax: 302 735-4705.

Comfort Inn, 222 S DuPont Hwy, Dover 19901. Tel & Fax: 302 674-3300.

Days Inn, 272 S DuPonr Hwy, Dover 19901. Tel: 302 674-8002. Fax: 302 674-2195.

Track History

Dover Downs International Speedway is a high-banked, one-mile superspeedway known as "The Monster Mile" for the tough competition that always prevails during its twin 500-mile Winston Cup classics; annually the first and last appearances of the Winston Cup circuit in the Northeast. In 1993, both the Budweiser 500 and SplitFire Spark Plug 500 were won by less than half-a-second! Opening day in July 1969 saw Richard Petty score the first of his 7 Dover victories, winning $4,725 from a purse of $24,000 before 22,000 fans. During the Silver Anniversary Season of 1993, Rusty Wallace collected over $77,000 from a total purse of $820,000 in the SplitFire Spark Plug 500, with a crowd of 86,000 in attendance. Richard Petty and Bobby Allison share the track record of 7 Winston Cup wins, but 3-time winner Dale Earnhardt is the track's leading money winner. David Pearson holds the record for Busch Poles with 6, and won 8 races as well. In 1973, Pearson completed a perfect season, winning both 500-mile races from the pole. Other drivers to sweep both Winston Cup classics in the same year are Bobby Allison (1983), Bill Elliott (1988), and Earnhardt (1989). Elliott holds the 500-mile race record at 125.945 mph, while Ernie Irvan set the Busch pole qualifying mark in 1993 at 151.541 mph. Dover Downs leads the way in free fan entertainment as well, with "Friday Night Live" in the air-conditioned grandstand featuring a special edition of MRN Radio's NASCAR Live with EG Gold. On Saturday, it's "Monster Mile Movie Night" with a classic racing film on the outdoor big screen.